Bush Walking With Willow

Bush walking is something I have done from a young age. My dad loved nature and taught me about the bush. We use to own a caravan  in the bush, it was like a holiday home for me, we went there every long weekend or school holidays. There was a little community of people and their caravans, which sat near a river. The River was stunning, looking down from the side of the river bank looked as though you were in the Canadian Rockies, just smaller. Beautiful forest trees lined the banks and the water was cool, dark and clear.

So as a young wild child I roamed the lands, climbed trees and jumped off rocks into the river. Along the way I encountered Kangaroo’s and their joey’s, wombats that chased me away from their young (yes, they can run when they want to), native birds, giant spiders and off course snakes. Red Belly Blacks, King Brown, you name it it was most likely there. And I had no care in the world, so, sure you worry about the deadly guys but after watching them slither away quicker then you can blink, you work out quick enough that they are more scared of you. Of course my dad taught me the rules, first aid, never go out alone, what to do if you or someone is bitten by  a snake  and we always carried walkie talkies (radio things) for communication. With that said I thought I would show you some bush walking tips that I know. This area was located close to home for me, Joel and I walk through there a lot. It can be quite beautiful in some parts.

Things you need (in no particular order):

  • Tell someone where you are going or have some way of for people to contact you.
  • Sunglasses
  • Hat
  • Backpack
  • Bug Repellent
  • First Aid
  • Food
  • Water
  • Socks (If the area is wet)
  • Walking Stick
  • Sunscreen
  • Map
  • Camera

I hope you enjoy the Dorky video.

Until next time, Sweets.

H xx

Leave a Reply

