Shopping In The Venice of China, Suzhou

Stunning views and beautiful red lanterns.

It was a peaceful cruise down the river to a town full of light, colour and canals . A market street full of shops with more souvenirs I had no use for, and after shopping at every market, in every city we had been to I had had enough shopping. Yet I have to say if I could have shopped anywhere, this would have be my top pick. IMG_5262

IMG_5274

IMG_5301

Shopping in China is a dream (depending on your shopping style of course). If you love hand bags, pursers and knock off designer brands you have hit jackpot in China. Trinkets and souvenirs, yep yep. House hold items, arts and jewellery, oh sure. Musical instruments and loads of tea uh-huh. Electronics, iPad and iPhone accessories, check check. You name it is gotta be there. I mean, it is China after all. Would you expect less?IMG_5324

Yet when it came to this market, it was the visual appeal that got me. I love lights and lanterns, this street was lit up like a christmas tree. The people seemed lovely, the atmosphere calm and relaxed. Just stunning!

My top buys in China:

1. Green tea, Oolong tea, Jasmine tea

You can get tea everywhere in China. I recommend looking for the more local, less fancy looking tea shops. The tea is the same and so much cheaper.

2. Finger Painting Art

I don’t know about you, but any art the artist can demonstrate on the spot is talent to me. Traditional Chinese finger painting, yes please.

IMG_5369

3. Tea Pots Sets x 2

To go with my tea of course and my my were they beautiful and cheap. A great tea pot set in Aussie might cost around $100AUD, in China $30AUD. I almost got three sets, so hard to resist.

4. Book on the Terracotta Warriors

I’m a sucker for knowledge.

5. Mulberry Hand Bag

What can I say, I’m female and it was so pretty, super cheap and navy blue (my favourite). Don’t mind if I do. Don’t worry it was fake Mulberry, ha like i’d waste money on a real one. That would mean less travel money.

So what are your tops things to shop for while traveling? Are you a practical shopper or do you like the souvenirs? Let me know in the comments.

Till next time.

H xx

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Geraint Isitt says:

    I totally love shopping as well. And the Chinese laterns you light and watch float away are awesome. When I lived in Saudi, we would go out to the desert and set them off. Probably could have gotten in trouble but who cares?

    1. Haha sounds like a good story.

  2. Amy says:

    Beautiful photos! Thank you for sharing your shopping 🙂 I buy small jewlery if I see what I really like…

    1. I like jewellery too. But I liked Mexico’s jewellery better then China’s. What places did you find had the best?

  3. Hannah says:

    I did lots of souvenir shopping in the shed markets at Victoria Falls. It was so hard not to buy something big and heavy though. I would have loved to bring home a huge wooden hippo statue but had to settle for a small carved stone bust instead.

    1. You could shipping it back, it might cost a bit, food for thoughts.

  4. Helen buckley says:

    Beautiful photos, love the colored lantern lights

Leave a Reply

